Aside: Welcome to the TravelTax Blog

While you may have read my articles on various websites, or my posts on FB pages and other forums, from time to time I like to wax eloquent without fitting my thoughts into someone else’s prescripted format. Some of the entries may be long and a few will simply be rants. Whatever the case, you are guaranteed to find some nugget of tax knowledge fitting for your situation with a dash of sarcasm or philosophy.

Since our clients are primarily engaged in multistate assignments, cross border employment or posted abroad, they share a common connection of working on the road, exploring the world or just planting themselves in a foreign land ….. travelers and nomads at heart.

Be sure to visit our website http://www.traveltax.com

Thanks for reading!

20 thoughts on “Aside: Welcome to the TravelTax Blog

    • Stacey
      You cannot work in one area more than 12 months and still be considered a “traveler” as it regards per diems treated as a non-taxable payment. Once you sign an agreement that takes you beyond 12 months, all lodging, meals and transportation allowances are taxable. You would need a significant break from the area to restart the clock

      Like

      • See the citation in the “References and Citation” section of the blog. Since a tax home is first your main place of work before any exceptions apply, your break should be sufficient to avoid frequent and repetitive income in the same area. IRS attorneys suggest 7 months minimum between two 12 month stints, preferably 12.
        The agencies have a lower compliance threshold and will often say 3 months

        Like

      • See the citation in the “References and Citation” section of the blog. Since a tax home is first your main place of work before any exceptions apply, your break should be sufficient to avoid frequent and repetitive income in the same area. IRS attorneys suggest 7 months minimum between two 12 month stints, preferably 12.
        The agencies have a lower compliance threshold and will often say 3 months

        Like

  1. I have just completed an eleven month contract and would like to come back to the same hospital again. How long should I wait to be safe?

    Like

  2. I get housing stipend. I work in same state as my main residence about 90 miles away. Am I able to claim mileage on taxes. Doesn’t housing stipend cover lodging and meals only?

    Like

  3. I don’t think you get my question: my stipend is based on the 3 shifts I work a week I stay in hotel all 3 nights. So none of that is taxable. What I’m asking is can I claim the mileage for driving to and from there. So some weeks I drive 180 miles and some weeks I drive 360 just depends on how I’m scheduled. Wondering if travel cost is separate or included in my stipend

    Like

    • Housing stipends are for housing, however, any excess is tossed into the same basket as the transportation deductions so if you have any excess, then that would offset your transportation expenses. To answer your specific question, the mileage is deductible. However, one thing to keep in mind, especially other readers, is that trips home during an assignment are considered personal expenses by the IRS so they are limited to what you would have deducted had you not gone home. In your case they pass as 4 days of deductions at the assignment is far more than your mileage home. If you travel home to work a job at home, then all of the mileage is generally deductible.

      Like

Leave a Reply

